U.S. Figure Skating Qualifying Structure

U.S. Figure Skating's competition structure encompasses the following events covering all disciplines offered within this structure:
  • Singles, pairs and dance
    • Nine (9) regional championships (juvenile, intermediate, novice, junior and senior singles skaters)
      • New England Regional Championships
      • North Atlantic Regional Championships
      • South Atlantic Regional Championships
      • Upper Great Lakes Regional Championships
      • Eastern Great Lakes Regional Championships
      • Southwestern Regional Championships
      • Northwest Pacific Regional Championships
      • Central Pacific Regional Championships
      • Southwest Pacific Regional Championships
    • Three (3) sectional championships (juvenile, intermediate, novice, junior and senior in all disciplines)
      • Eastern Sectional Championships
      • Midwestern Sectional Championships
      • Pacific Coast Sectional Championships
    • U.S. Championships (national championship for all levels and disciplines of skaters)

In general, skaters qualify for the U.S. Championships in one of six ways:
      • Placing in the top four at the current season's sectional championships
      • Placing in the top five in a senior event at the previous year's U.S. Championships
      • Winning a medal at the most recent Olympic Winter Games
      • Winning a medal at the previous year's World Championships
      • Advancing to the current season's Grand Prix Final or Junior Grand Final
      • Earning an "international bye" based on proximity of an international assignment in the current season to the sectional championships