2014 U.S. Collegiate Championships to be Held this Week in Rochester, Mich.

(8/13/14) - The 2014 U.S. Collegiate Figure Skating Championships, hosted by the Onyx-Suburban Skating Academy, will be held Aug. 14-16, in Rochester, Mich. Fifty-four athletes will compete for titles in junior and senior ladies and men's.

Facing off in the senior ladies event will be 2010 U.S. junior silver medalist Yasmin Siraj (Harvard University) and Ola Czyzewski (Marquette University), the reigning U.S. Collegiate silver medalist. Siraj placed 11th at the World Junior Championships in 2013 most recently competed at the 2014 U.S. Championships in her hometown of Boston where she placed 16th.

Headlining the senior men's event is 2011 U.S. silver medalist Richard Dornbush (University of California San Diego). Dornbush is a six-time competitor in the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series and placed fifth at the 2014 U.S. Championships. Challenging Dornbush will be Daniel Palmeri (Macomb Community College), who placed third at this event last year.

Vying for the title in the junior ladies event will be Flora Su (University of Vermont) and Crystal Chilcott (University of Colorado at Colorado Springs). The two faced off at last year's championships with Su earning silver and Chilcott placing fourth.

Leading the junior men's event will be Kevin Wu (Texas A&M University). Wu most recently placed seventh in the novice men's event at the 2014 Midwestern Sectional Championships after earning the novice bronze medal at the 2014 Southwestern Regional Championships.

The U.S. Collegiate Championships are held every summer and are the only figure skating event in the country open solely to high-level, full-time college students. To qualify, a skater must be a current U.S. Figure Skating member and 1.) a high school graduate who is enrolled full time in a college or university degree program, 2.) a recent graduate of an accredited institution or 3.) entering a college or university as a first-year student for the upcoming semester.

Past winners of the event include U.S. champions Alissa Czisny and Ryan Bradley.

For more information, click here.

Bookmark and Share