Parents

Jurisdiction: collecting viewpoints and ideas of parents of active and former competitive athletes; communicating these ideas and viewpoints; informational and educational meetings for parents; providing guidance to parents in their supportive role in the lives of competitive athletes; promoting Codes of Ethics and good sportsmanship; selecting spokespersons for meetings, seminars and camps; preparing and publishing FOCUS for Parents in SKATING magazine.

Linda Ogawa
Parents Committee Chair

For a detailed job description, click here.

Committee Duties
  • To assist event local organizing committees through liaison with the director of competitions in recommending policies to recognize parents of skaters competing at major competitions (PLCR 2.011);

  • To provide volunteer parents to assist with parents' needs at major competitions, such as staffing parents' hospitality room, providing information on housing, buses and tours, etc. (PLCR 2.012). (Note: this should be delegated to the appropriate local organizing committees);

  • To delegate a parent spokesperson to attend the Governing Council meeting (PLCR 2.013);

  • To prepare "Focus for Parents", for inclusion in SKATING four times a year, with appropriate topics;

  • To have the duty and power of enforcing and carrying out the official rules which relate to the matters within its jurisdiction (Bylaws Article XVIII, Section 1).

  • To have the duty of formulating rules for the matters within its jurisdiction and of keeping said rules current and up to date. Any rule changes therein so formulated shall be submitted to the Board of Directors for action, and no rules or changes therein shall be effective until approved and published (Bylaws Article XVIII, Section 2, Bylaws Article XXII, Section 3).

Articles for Parents
Worried about the flu? Check out this article by Dr. Ellen Geminiani.

Read an article from SKATING magazine on Skating Injuries.


Visit the U.S. Figure Skating Parents Committee Facebook page.

2012-13 Parents Committee

Linda Ogawa Chair logawa57@gmail.com
Lisa Heritage Vice Chair for Dance Laheritage@frontier.com
Kristin Adamczyk Vice Chair for Synchronized kadamczyk99@gmail.com
Mary Pottenger Vice Chair for Singles/Pairs pairofpairs@aol.com
B.L. Wylie Vice Chair for Basic Skills blwylie@ix.netcom.com
Eastern Section
New England Region
Gordon Benson*** bensongdki@aol.com
Courtney Bohen cebohen@gmail.com
Timothy Goebel** tim.goebel@nielsen.com
Jennifer Wester** jeforacause@aol.com
Donna Wunder dwunder56@comcast.net
North Atlantic Region
William Mein billmein@hotmail.com
Jill Mueller thotdog2000@aol.com
South Atlantic Region
Kimberly Edwards kimberlysmail@att.net
Dina Gold dinamgold@gmail.com
Mark Ladwig** ladwigMark@gmail.com
Midwestern Section
Eastern Great Lakes Region
Ken Buck KBuck@Cinci.rr.com
Lindsey Weber*** lindseyweber1@aol.com
Upper Great Lakes Region
Kristin Adamczyk** kadamczyk99@gmail.com
Sarah Arnold** sk8rsynchro@aol.com
Judy Frisch jlfrisch@cableone.net
Rick Kitchen ina_minute@hotmail.com
Julie Mattson Ostrow jmostrow@msn.com
Benjamin Miller** benjaminemiller@gmail.com
Southwestern Region
Heidi DeLio Thibert* thi@frii.com
Gerry Lane* gerryl@ssprd.org
Linda Ogawa logawa57@gmail.com
Mary Pottenger pairofpairs@aol.com
Elizabeth Wylie blwylie@ix.netcom.com
Pacific Coast Section
Central Pacific Region
Justin Dillon nvrstpsk8n00@gmail.com
Andrea Ewing andrea3159@aol.com
Northwest Pacific Region
Pamela Dawson*** phdawson@charter.net
Lisa Heritage lisa@pisc.org
Southwest Pacific Region
Howard Andrews hwandrewsjr@gmail.com
Alex Chang*** iceskateralex@aol.com
Rainer Kokotakis raingrant@aol.com
Ouida Robins* ouida.robins@pasadenafsc.com
Group Coordinator: Justin Dillon nvrstpsk8n00@gmail.com
Finance Liaison: Courtney Bohen cebohen@gmail.com
Coaches Chair: Alex Chang*** iceskateralex@aol.com
Rules Chair: Linda Chihara lkchihara@yahoo.com
HQ Liaison: Susi Wehrli swehrli@usfigureskating.org
HQ Liaison/Rules: Juliet Newcomer jnewcomer@usfigureskating.org
* Coaching Member
** Athlete Member
*** Ex officio


Bookmark and Share